National and Kapodistrian University of Athens

in cooperation with

Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn

Humanistische Hochschule Berlin

Joint Conference on

Democracy in Ancient and Modern Times The ancient Greek experience and its relevance for our own times

Athens, 3rd - 4th October 2024

Alkis Argyriadis Amphitheatre, Main building-, 30 Panepistimiou st.







HELLENIC REPUBLIC National and Kapodistrian University of Athens \_\_\_\_\_\_EST. 1837\_\_\_\_\_ Humanistische Hochschule Berlin

Thursday, 3rd October, 2024			
Part I:	Introductions		
09:00 hrs:	Greetings	Moderator: Professor Kyriazis	
09:30 hrs:	Conference Opening remarks by the Co-Chairs Professor Dr. Spyridon Vlachopoulos (University of Athens) Professor Dr. Winfried Schmitz (University of Bonn)		
10:00 hrs:	The Ethos of Democracy Professor Dr. Julian Nida-Rümelin (University of Munich) Fmr Minister of State for Culture Founding Rector of the Humanistic University Berlin		
10.45 hrs:	The Concept of Law and Democracy in ancient Greece and Rome Professor Dr. Prokopis Pavlopoulos, fmr President of the Hellenic Republic		
11:30 hrs:	The Democracy of the ancient Greeks and its relevancy for our own times Dr.h.c. Volos Guy Féaux de la Croix, attorney-at-law (Cologne)		
12:15 hrs:	Discussion		
12.45 hrs:	Lunch break		
Part II: Democracy – why in Greece? Foundations and Beginnings-			
1415		Moderator: Dr. Katarina Nebelin	
14.15 hrs:	From Violence to Reform: The painful birth of the Athenian Democracy Professor Athina Dimopoulou (University of Athens)		
15.00 hrs:	The Athenian Democracy: A road accident of history? Professor Dr. Winfried Schmitz (University of Bonn)		
15.45 hrs:	Graeca non leguntur: The Rule of Law and its roots in Ancient Greece Professor Dr. Heinz Barta (University of Innsbruck)		
16.30 hrs:	Discussion		
Part III:	The Culture of Democracy	Moderator: Professor Schmitz	
17.00 hrs:	Political Culture in the Athenian Democracy of the 5th and 4th century BC Professor Dr. Christopher Degelmann (Humboldt University, Berlin)		
17.45 hrs:	Democratic Socialisation and democratic education Professor Dr. Marian Nebelin (Technische Universität Chemnitz)		
18.30 hrs:	Discussion		
20.00 hrs:	Star Trek Democracy – Cineastic Visions of Living Together, from 1968 until today: Dr. Nathalie Weidenfeld (University of Munich)		



# Friday, 4th October, 2024

Part IV:	Institutions of the Athenian Democracy		
09.30 hrs	Deliberative Institutions of the Athenian Democracy Professor Dr Vasiliki Christou (University of Athens)	Moderator: Asst. Professor Simantiras	
10.15 hrs:	Legislator by lot in ancient and modern democracy Professor Dr. Spyridon Vlachopoulos (University of Athens)		
11.00 hrs:	Discussion		
11.30 hrs:	Direct Democracy in ancient and modern times Prof. Dr. Nicholas Kyriazis, University of Thessaly Volos Prof. Emmanouil M.L. Economou, University of Thessaly Volos		
12.15 hrs:	Autonomy, Immediacy and Participation - Keywords on the crisis of representative democracy Prof. Dr. Peter-Alexis Albrecht, Goethe-University of Frankfurt/M		
12.45 hrs: 13.15 hrs:	Discussion Lunch break		
Part V: Democracies in Crisis		Moderator: Professor Dimonoulou	
14.30 hrs:	From epistemic democracy to democratic expertise: The Constitutional challenge of effective governance Professor Nikolaos Simantiras (University of Athens)	Moderator: Professor Dimopoulou	
15.15 hrs:	The Defense and Failure of Democracy Dr. Katarina Nebelin (University of Klagenfurt)		
16.00 hrs	Athenian Democracy under Roman Rule: Crisis, Rebirth and its reception in modern times Professor Dimitris Karambelas (University of Athens)		
17.30 hrs:	Discussion		
Part VI:	Conclusions and Outlook	Moderator: Professor Albrecht	
18.00 hrs:	<b>Summary / Outlook</b> Professor Dr. Nicholas Kyriazis (University of Athens) Professor Dr. Winfried Schmitz (University of Bonn)	Moderator, Froiessor Aibretiit	
18.30 hrs:	Discussion		
19.00 hrs:	<b>Concluding remarks</b> Professor Dr. Julian Nida-Rümelin, fmr Minister of State		

Founding Rector of the Humanistic University Berlin

Participants:

## Participants from Greece:

Co-chair: Prof. Dr. Spyridon Vlachopoulos, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens Programme coordinator (Athens): Asst. Prof. Dr. Nikolaos Simantiras, University of Athens

### **Other Contributors: (alphabetically):**

Professor Dr. Vasiliki Christou, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens Professor Dr. Athina Dimopoulou, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens Professor Dr. Dimitris Karambelas, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens Professor Dr. Nicholas Kyriazis, University of Thessaly Professor Dr. Emmanouil M.L. Economou, University of Thessaly Professor Dr. Prokopis Pavlopoulos, fmr President of the Hellenic Republic Asst. Prof. Dr. Nikolaos Simantiras, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens

### Participants from abroad:

Co-Chair: Professor Dr. Winfried Schmitz, Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn Programme-coordinator (Bonn): Dr. h.c. (Volos) Guy Féaux de la Croix, attorney-at-law

#### Other Contributors: (alphabetically):

Professor Dr. Peter-Alexis Albrecht, Goethe-University Frankfurt/M
Professor Dr. Heinz Barta, Leopold-Franzens-University Innsbruck
Professor Dr. Christopher Degelmann, Humboldt-University, Berlin
Dr. Katarina Nebelin, Alpen-Adria-University Klagenfurt
Professor Dr. Marian Nebelin, Technische University Chemnitz
Professor Dr. Julian Nida-Rümelin, Humanistic University Berlin
Dr. Nathalie Weidenfeld, Ludwig-Maximilians-University Munich

